Australian Reading Hour – Thursday September 19th

On Thursday September 19 2019, stop what you’re doing for one hour and pick up a book.

The aim is for Australians to either rediscover or introduce themselves to the benefits of reading. Take the time to learn, escape and relax.

In children, reading has been shown to help with identity formation, setting them up for success in the future.

In adults, reading has been shown to reduce stress by 68% more than listening to music, going for a walk, or having a cup of tea.

 

Read more from the Australian Reading Hour Ambassadors

Matt Stanton

“Reading changes everything, especially for children. I love that ARH encourages Australians of all ages to read for one hour, because books inspire the imagination, imagination births creativity and creativity changes the world into what we need it to be for the future. As far as I’m concerned, it all starts with a book.”​

Mick Elliot

“As a children’s author and TV producer I have witnessed the power of stories to inspire and nurture emotional and intellectual development in kids. I am passionate about the importance of reading for pleasure and believe that every child deserves access to stories that provide them with the tools to understand the world around them. This has always been my goal as a writer; to connect with readers and bring joy, laughter, escapism and a means to process the complexities of their lives.”

Anthony Field

“Reading, rhyming, singing and talking – beginning from birth – profoundly influence literacy and language development, the foundations of all other learning. When other family members become involved or encourage the reading experience it can lead to a very positive, worthwhile, bonding moment as well. For all these reasons I am very happy to be an ambassador. Encourage children and families to read together.”

 

 

Rachael Johns

“I’m super excited to be chosen as an Australian Reading Hour ambassador as it’s an initiative I’ve supported and been passionate about for years. I think the value of reading is sometimes underestimated in our busy lives – we see it as a luxury, something many of us want to do but don’t have much time for, but reading is so important and it deserves us to make it a priority. As an ex-English teacher I know how important reading books are for children – you can always tell the difference between the kids that read or have been read to and those that don’t, and kids need to see the adults in their lives reading as well. Reading expands the mind and can take us to places we might never have thought to go or not be able to afford.”

Benjamin Law

“For me, reading does two opposite but equally important things: it gives me a sense of companionship and self-identification – the sensation that someone else understands my interior world – and introduces me to people and worlds I’d never have encountered otherwise. Good books aren’t just an education, but a gymnasium for human empathy.”

Karen Manbullo

“I am excited to be a part of the Australian Reading Hour and that my book Moli det bigibigi will be read by thousands more people. I’m particularly excited because people will be able to read the book in Kriol and in English. Moli det bigibigi is the first book that my grandchildren have read in their own language.”

Sally Rippon

“Reading is a vital component in developing empathy and fostering compassion in young people. I am delighted to be involved in the Australian Reading Hour for 2019. I never tire of the thrill of listening to children talk about why they love a particular book or character. I love writing and sharing stories. My hope has always been that my readers will see themselves in my stories and understand that no matter how confusing or frightening the world may seem at times, kindness, friendship and integrity always win out in the end.”

Visit the Australian Reading Hour website for more information.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *